Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

The Vinyl Guide

If you like records, just starting a collection or are an uber-nerd with a house-full of vinyl, this is the podcast for you. Nate Goyer is The Vinyl Guide and discusses all things music and record-related. Nate is a 40+ year vinyl collector, owns some of the most highly desired titles and enjoys them thoroughly. The Vinyl Guide is his journey through the history of music to speak with the artists and technicians who made music history and get the stories behind the records.

Aug 9, 2023

In memory of Sixto "Sugar Man" Rodriguez, here is the full Vinyl Guide interview from 2018 discussing music, records, recordings and more.

Rest in Peace Mr Rodriguez.

Topics include:

  • Interview start / greetings
  • Music on vinyl and digital
  • Memories of Australia and New Zealand
  • Rodriguez was surprised by a large fanbase in Australia
  • Writing the songs on “Cold Fact” & “Coming From Reality”
  • The accident that took part of his finger
  • The “I’ll Slip Away” single on Impact records
  • What the “Sugarman” character someone he knew?
  • Did his style change between the two LPs?
  • Fighting injustice in the music industry
  • What is the one message Sixto would like to give the world?
  • Will we see another Rodriguez album?
  • Honorary PhD / Dr Rodriguez
  • Did Sixto continue to play music during the years after he made his records?
  • Is he familiar with Blue Goose record label out of Australia?
  • Do you know where the master tapes of “Cold Fact” and “Coming From Reality” are?
  • Touring the world with local musicians
  • Taking inspiration from his family who served in military
  • How did you choose the path of being an artist?
  • What does he want to accomplish in his remaining years?
  • The King of Thailand came to his show
  • Rodriguez still studies music
  • Social commentary on global cultures
  • What music, lyrics does he feel are still relevant today?
  • End of interview

Pls support our podcast at:

Listen on Apple:
Listen on Spotify: